Compliance platform alternatives

8 Scytale alternatives for SOC 2 in 2026

How do the Scytale alternatives compare?

Filter by what you need. The table and the profiles below update together.

Filters
Company size
Frameworks needed beyond SOC 2
Budget typical price per year
Must-haves
8 of 8 alternatives match
Shortlist of Scytale alternatives. Prices are annual platform subscriptions, excluding audit fees unless stated.
Best forReason to compareFrameworksProfile
Growth-stage SaaS teams that expect to add frameworks and want configurable tests Most auditors in the directory; custom tests
$9,415[4]
to $68,250
4.7 (1,397)
50 directory firms[6]
Full profile ↓
Cloud-native SaaS teams on mainstream stacks that want broad, prebuilt coverage Largest published integration catalogue
$7,500[4]
to $57,221
4.6 (2,732)
41 directory firms[6]
Full profile ↓
Engineering-led teams that value inspectable code or the option to self-host Inspectable code, a self-hosting option and 580+ integrations 4.7 (74)Small sample Full profile ↓
Early- to growth-stage SaaS teams seeking guided first-audit preparation 300+ integrations and 45 directory auditors
$13,167[4]
to $16,000
4.7 (1,684)
25+ automated[13]
45 directory firms[6]
Full profile ↓
Established GRC teams running several frameworks and audits at once Built for concurrent multi-framework audits
$22,215[4]
to $70,000
4.5 (222) Full profile ↓
Growth-stage tech teams managing SOC 2 alongside other frameworks Highest G2 rating on this page
$15,000[7]
"from" price
4.9 (1,325) Full profile ↓
Teams that want expert guidance on clearly named packages Published $7,500 entry package and 300+ integrations
$7,733[4]
to $32,575
4.7 (829)
13 directory firms[6]
Full profile ↓
Teams wanting software and a connected audit process from the same provider Audit from a related CPA firm
$8,700[7]
"from" price
4.7 (585)
Own CPA firm[5]
Full profile ↓

● vendor-reported · ○ third-party · ◐ user reviews · ≈ our estimate · ∅ not disclosed. Numbers in brackets link to sources.

How this list is ordered By how many of the switching reasons above each product addresses, using the criterion stated under each reason, then alphabetically. Numbers are list positions, not scores.

The short answer

Teams usually look beyond Scytale over integration reliability, add-on costs or auditor fit. Drata, Vanta, Sprinto and Secureframe publish larger integration catalogues, and Drata, Sprinto and Vanta have the most auditors working in them. Thoropass runs the audit itself. Comp AI suits teams that want to inspect or self-host. Scytale still fits a first SOC 2 without a compliance lead.

Where Scytale stands today

Starting price
From $7,500 a yearVendor-reported[1]
G2 rating
4.7 · 779 reviewsUser reviews[3]
Integrations
Time to implement
Audit
Third-party audit service, from $4,200Vendor-reported[1]

Why do teams leave Scytale?

5 reasons recur across reviews and independent assessments. Find yours, then jump to the alternatives that address it.

  1. Integrations and automated checks miss things

    Reviews quoted by a competitor and a listing site describe integrations that don't work as expected when infrastructure doesn't match Scytale's expected setup, unreliable AWS control population, and occasional bugs. Scytale publishes 150+ integrations.

    Reviews quoted by SmartSuite · SelectHub review summaryThird-party[9]Third-party[10]

    Counts as addressed when: Publishes a larger integration catalogue than Scytale's 150+.

  2. Advisory, extra frameworks and questionnaires cost extra

    The $7,500 starting price covers the platform and one framework. On its AWS Marketplace listing, each extra framework starts at $2,100, framework consulting at $4,000, penetration testing at $4,500, security questionnaires at $12,000 and a virtual GRC expert at $36,000.

    Scytale's own AWS Marketplace listingVendor-reported[1]
    Addressed byNo alternative here is clearly cheaper on published figures; Scytale's floor is among the lowest. Compare like-for-like quotes instead.

    Counts as addressed when: Publishes a lower all-in price for the same scope.

  3. Your auditor doesn't work in it

    No attestation firm in SOC2Auditors' directory lists Scytale as a platform it works with. Scytale sells a separate third-party audit service from $4,200.

    0 directory firms list Scytale · audit service from $4,200Third-party[8]Third-party[1]

    Counts as addressed when: Listed by 25 or more firms in the same directory, or the provider runs the audit itself.

  4. You pay for guidance you no longer need

    Scytale's packages pair the platform with consultants. Teams with in-house compliance capacity, or unusual setups, are a weaker fit.

    Fit assessment, SOC2Auditors.org reviewThird-party[8]
    Addressed byDrataVantaComp AI

    Counts as addressed when: Positioned for self-serve teams, with custom tests or inspectable code.

  5. The programme has outgrown a first-audit tool

    Scytale is described as best for a first SOC 2 without a GRC lead. Teams running several frameworks and audits at once look for tools built for that.

    Fit assessment, SOC2Auditors.org reviewThird-party[8]

    Counts as addressed when: Positioned for multi-framework or established GRC programmes.

When should you stay with Scytale?

Switching mid-programme has real costs. Staying is often the right call if any of these apply.

  • Nobody on your team owns compliance and you use the consultant that comes with the Build DFY or Build Stronger package.
  • Your Type 2 observation period has started. Switching mid-period puts the evidence trail at risk.
  • You need one framework. Scytale's $7,500 floor for the platform plus one framework matches the lowest published starting prices on this page.
  • You're happy with it. It is rated 4.7 on G2 from 779 reviews; only Scrut (4.9) rates higher on this page.

Before you leave, try this

Get the add-ons you'll need (extra frameworks, questionnaires) priced into the renewal, then ask one alternative for a quote on exactly the same scope. Scytale publishes per-item starting prices on AWS Marketplace, which makes that comparison straightforward. [1]

Which Scytale alternative fits your situation?

Four common situations and the alternative that fits each. These are fit labels, not rankings.

What are the best Scytale alternatives?

Each alternative gets the same profile: who it fits, the data, how it differs from Scytale, and what switching involves.

  1. 01

    Drata

    Compliance automation platform with custom tests, compliance checks in infrastructure code and a dedicated auditor portal.

    Addresses 4 of 5 reasons
    Best forGrowth-stage SaaS teams that expect to add frameworks and want configurable tests
    Switch to it if…You need deeper or custom control tests, more auditors to choose from, or room for a multi-framework programme.
    Not ideal if…You want the lowest entry price. Its observed median contract is $25,000.
    Price per year
    $9,415–$68,250Third-party[4]
    G2 rating
    4.7 · 1,397 reviewsUser reviews[3]
    Integrations
    Implementation
    Test cadence

    How it differs from Scytale

    AreaScytale currentDrata
    Integrations150+300+
    Custom testsNot publishedEditable and custom tests, with raw output
    Auditors in the directoryNone list Scytale50 firms
    Observed contract medianNot available$25,000

    Strengths

    • Listed by the most audit firms in an independent directory (50). [16]
    • Highest-rated support in our Vanta comparison (9.5 on G2). [17]
    • Custom tests with visible raw output, and compliance checks in infrastructure code. [18][19]

    Limitations

    • Observed contract median of $25,000, second-highest here after Hyperproof. [4]
    • Tests run daily by default, not hourly. [16]
    • SCIM is listed only on the Enterprise plan; the Foundation plan is capped at 50 employees and one framework. [12]

    What users say

    • Customer support135 G2 mentions
    • Ease of use115 G2 mentions
    • Limited integrations43 G2 mentions

    Source: [17]

    Switching effort

    ∅ Not disclosed. We haven't found published migration support from Drata. Ask for it in writing, along with what carries over from Scytale.
  2. 02

    Vanta

    Compliance automation platform with the largest published integration catalogue and hourly automated tests.

    Addresses 3 of 5 reasons
    Best forCloud-native SaaS teams on mainstream stacks that want broad, prebuilt coverage
    Switch to it if…Integration gaps or unreliable checks are your main problem, or your auditor already works in Vanta.
    Not ideal if…You want a consultant included, or a published price ceiling. Observed contracts reach $57,221.
    Price per year
    $7,500–$57,221Third-party[4]
    G2 rating
    4.6 · 2,732 reviewsUser reviews[3]
    Integrations
    Implementation
    Test cadence

    How it differs from Scytale

    AreaScytale currentVanta
    Integrations150+400+
    Automated test cadenceNot publishedHourly
    Auditors in the directoryNone list Scytale41 firms
    GuidanceConsultant in higher packagesSelf-guided; success managers on larger plans

    Strengths

    • Hourly automated tests by default, the most frequent published cadence here. [11]
    • 400+ integrations and 41 audit firms in an independent directory list it. [11][6]
    • Full SCIM account lifecycle documented. [5]

    Limitations

    • SCIM may need a plan upgrade or add-on. [16]
    • Reviewers rate its support below Drata's (8.9 vs 9.5 on G2). [17]
    • Observed contracts range widely, up to $57,221 a year. [4]

    What users say

    • Ease of use675 G2 mentions
    • Time saved through automation405 G2 mentions
    • Integration issues179 G2 mentions

    Source: [17]

    Switching effort

    ∅ Not disclosed. We haven't found published migration support from Vanta. Ask for it in writing, along with what carries over from Scytale.
  3. 03

    Comp AI

    Open-core compliance platform whose evidence-collection code can be inspected or self-hosted, with a managed cloud option.

    Addresses 2 of 5 reasons
    Best forEngineering-led teams that value inspectable code or the option to self-host
    Switch to it if…You want to see exactly how checks work, or run the platform on your own infrastructure.
    Not ideal if…You want a published rate card or enterprise controls guaranteed on the managed cloud.
    Price per year
    G2 rating
    4.7 · 74 reviewsUser reviews[3]
    Integrations
    Implementation
    Test cadence

    How it differs from Scytale

    AreaScytale currentComp AI
    CodeProprietaryAGPLv3 open core, inspectable
    HostingVendor cloudManaged cloud or self-hosted
    Integrations150+580+ (vendor claim)
    Published priceFrom $7,500Not published; quoted on a call

    Strengths

    • 99% of the core is open source under AGPLv3, and self-hosting is documented. [15]
    • Claims 580+ integrations, the largest published figure here. [15]
    • 1-month G2 time to implement, tied shortest here. [3]

    Limitations

    • No published rate card; price is given on a sales call. [15]
    • SCIM not established in public documentation. [5]
    • Reviewers cite a lack of guidance (19 G2 mentions) and a small review base (74). [3]

    What users say

    • Ease of use42 G2 mentions
    • Support for multiple standards38 G2 mentions
    • Lack of guidance19 G2 mentions
    • Limited customization17 G2 mentions

    Source: [3]

    Switching effort

    ∅ Not disclosed. We haven't found published migration support from Comp AI. Ask for it in writing, along with what carries over from Scytale.
  4. 04

    Sprinto

    Compliance automation platform focused on guided first-audit preparation for SaaS teams.

    Addresses 2 of 5 reasons
    Best forEarly- to growth-stage SaaS teams seeking guided first-audit preparation
    Switch to it if…You want a guided first audit like Scytale's, with a larger published integration catalogue and more auditors to choose from.
    Not ideal if…You need SCIM provisioning or enterprise access controls; neither is established in public materials.
    Price per year
    $13,167–$16,000Third-party[4]
    G2 rating
    4.7 · 1,684 reviewsUser reviews[3]
    Integrations
    Frameworks
    Implementation

    How it differs from Scytale

    AreaScytale currentSprinto
    Integrations150+300+
    Auditors in the directoryNone list Scytale45 firms
    Frameworks80+25+ automated out of the box, 200+ digitized
    Observed contract medianNot available$15,000

    Strengths

    • 300+ pre-built integrations, double Scytale's published 150+. [13]
    • 45 audit firms in an independent directory list it. [6]
    • Lowest observed contract median on this page, $15,000. [4]

    Limitations

    • SCIM provisioning not established in public materials. [5]
    • Custom security roles and RBAC are Growth-plan features. [5]
    • Most of its 200+ frameworks are digitized rather than automated; 25+ are automated out of the box. [13][5]

    What users say

    ∅ Review themes not yet compiled. Sprinto has 1,684 G2 reviews; we haven't coded their recurring themes yet, so we don't summarise them here.

    Switching effort

    ∅ Not disclosed. We haven't found published migration support from Sprinto. Ask for it in writing, along with what carries over from Scytale.
  5. 05

    Hyperproof

    Governance, risk and compliance platform for established teams running several frameworks and audits at once.

    Addresses 1 of 5 reasons
    Best forEstablished GRC teams running several frameworks and audits at once
    Switch to it if…Your compliance programme has grown into multiple concurrent audits with a dedicated team.
    Not ideal if…You are a small team after a first SOC 2; it is described as too broad and costly for that.
    Price per year
    $22,215–$70,000Third-party[4]
    G2 rating
    4.5 · 222 reviewsUser reviews[3]
    Implementation

    How it differs from Scytale

    AreaScytale currentHyperproof
    Observed priceFrom $7,500 (published floor)$22,215–$70,000, median $41,400
    Positioned forA first SOC 2 without a GRC leadSeveral frameworks and audits at once
    G2 time to implement2 months3 months
    Trust centreBuilt inThrough a HyperComply partnership

    Strengths

    • Built for established GRC teams running concurrent audits. [5]
    • SCIM provisioning documented through Okta or Entra. [5]

    Limitations

    • Highest observed contract median on this page, $41,400. [4]
    • Longest G2 time to implement here, 3 months. [3]
    • Described as too broad and costly for a small team's first SOC 2. [5]

    What users say

    ∅ Review themes not yet compiled. Hyperproof has 222 G2 reviews; we haven't coded their recurring themes yet, so we don't summarise them here.

    Switching effort

    ∅ Not disclosed. We haven't found published migration support from Hyperproof. Ask for it in writing, along with what carries over from Scytale.
  6. 06

    Scrut Automation

    Compliance and risk platform for growth-stage tech teams running SOC 2 alongside other frameworks.

    Addresses 1 of 5 reasons
    Best forGrowth-stage tech teams managing SOC 2 alongside other frameworks
    Switch to it if…Your programme now spans several frameworks and you want a highly rated tool built for that.
    Not ideal if…Budget is tight. Its published small-team price is $15,000 before audit and penetration testing.
    Price per year
    From $15,000Third-party[7]
    G2 rating
    4.9 · 1,325 reviewsUser reviews[3]
    Implementation

    How it differs from Scytale

    AreaScytale currentScrut Automation
    Published starting price$7,500$15,000
    G2 rating4.7 · 779 reviews4.9 · 1,325 reviews
    G2 time to implement2 months1 month
    Positioned forA first SOC 2 without a GRC leadSOC 2 alongside other frameworks

    Strengths

    • Highest G2 rating on this page: 4.9 from 1,325 reviews. [3]
    • Shortest G2 time to implement here (1 month, tied with Comp AI). [3]
    • Listed with SCIM in Okta's catalogue; trust portal and auditor access documented. [5]

    Limitations

    • Published small-team price of $15,000 is double Scytale's floor, before audit and pen-test fees. [7]
    • Which plan includes SCIM is not public. [5]

    What users say

    ∅ Review themes not yet compiled. Scrut Automation has 1,325 G2 reviews; we haven't coded their recurring themes yet, so we don't summarise them here.

    Switching effort

    ∅ Not disclosed. We haven't found published migration support from Scrut Automation. Ask for it in writing, along with what carries over from Scytale.
  7. 07

    Secureframe

    Compliance platform sold as named packages (Fundamentals, Complete, Defense) with expert guidance.

    Addresses 1 of 5 reasons
    Best forTeams that want expert guidance on clearly named packages
    Switch to it if…You want guidance like Scytale's but on a published entry package.
    Not ideal if…You need SSO or SCIM on the entry plan; both need the quote-based Complete package.
    Price per year
    $7,733–$32,575Third-party[4]
    G2 rating
    4.7 · 829 reviewsUser reviews[3]
    Integrations
    Implementation

    How it differs from Scytale

    AreaScytale currentSecureframe
    Entry price$7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Fundamentals from $7,500
    Integrations150+300+
    SSO and SCIMAvailable; tier not publicComplete package only
    Auditors in the directoryNone list Scytale13 firms

    Strengths

    • Fundamentals package price published on the vendor site: from $7,500 a year. [14]
    • 300+ native integrations. [14]
    • Trust centre included free on Fundamentals. [5]

    Limitations

    • SSO and SCIM require the quote-based Complete package. [14]
    • Fewer directory auditors than Drata, Sprinto or Vanta (13). [6]

    What users say

    ∅ Review themes not yet compiled. Secureframe has 829 G2 reviews; we haven't coded their recurring themes yet, so we don't summarise them here.

    Switching effort

    ∅ Not disclosed. We haven't found published migration support from Secureframe. Ask for it in writing, along with what carries over from Scytale.
  8. 08

    Thoropass

    Compliance platform paired with its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, so software and audit come from one provider.

    Addresses 1 of 5 reasons
    Best forTeams wanting software and a connected audit process from the same provider
    Switch to it if…Coordinating Scytale with a separate auditor is the main pain.
    Not ideal if…You want to choose your own audit firm freely; the point is the connected audit.
    Price per year
    G2 rating
    4.7 · 585 reviewsUser reviews[3]
    Implementation

    How it differs from Scytale

    AreaScytale currentThoropass
    AuditSeparate service line, unnamed CPA firmRelated CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance
    Published priceFrom $7,500Platform from $8,700 + audit from $5,800
    Pricing structurePlatform and add-onsSoftware and audit priced separately

    Strengths

    • Software and audit from one provider, through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance. [5]
    • SCIM 2.0 provisioning documented through Entra and Okta. [5]
    • Support is among the most-praised themes in its G2 reviews (221 mentions). [3]

    Limitations

    • Software and audit are priced separately, so the total needs two quotes. [5]
    • Reviewers cite unclear UX and integration issues (39 and 34 G2 mentions). [3]

    What users say

    • Ease of use239 G2 mentions
    • Excellent support221 G2 mentions
    • Lack of clarity in UX and at sale39 G2 mentions
    • Integration issues34 G2 mentions

    Source: [3]

    Switching effort

    ∅ Not disclosed. We haven't found published migration support from Thoropass. Ask for it in writing, along with what carries over from Scytale.

What is the cheapest Scytale alternative?

On published figures, none is clearly cheaper. Scytale's AWS Marketplace floor is $7,500 a year for the platform and one framework, and Secureframe's Fundamentals package also starts at $7,500. Thoropass's platform starts at $8,700 before its audit. On observed contracts, Sprinto has the lowest median here ($15,000 on Vendr), then Vanta and Secureframe ($20,000). Compare quotes for the same scope.

Annual platform subscription on one scale, Scytale first as the baseline. Ranges are observed contracts (Vendr); a fading bar is a published "from" price; the black tick is a median; hatching means no price is published.

Scytale current · baseline
Drata Vendr, 235 purchases
$9,415–$68,250Third-party[4]
Median $25,000
Vanta Vendr, 373 purchases
$7,500–$57,221Third-party[4]
Median $20,000
Comp AI quote on a 20-minute call
Sprinto Vendr
$13,167–$16,000Third-party[4]
Median $15,000
Hyperproof Vendr, 44 purchases
$22,215–$70,000Third-party[4]
Median $41,400
Scrut Automation AWS Marketplace
From $15,000Third-party[7]
Secureframe Vendr; Fundamentals from $7,500
$7,733–$32,575Third-party[4]
Median $20,000
Thoropass platform; audit from $5,800 extra

Which capabilities does each alternative include?

Scytale is the shaded baseline column. Tick the alternatives you're weighing, then compare only those.

3 selected
  • Included
  • Add-on or higher tier
  • Partial
  • Not offered
  • Not disclosed
Capabilities as published or reported. "Not disclosed" means we couldn't confirm either way; it does not mean the feature is missing.
CapabilityScytaleBaselineDrataVantaComp AISprintoHyperproofScrut AutomationSecureframeThoropass
SOC 2IncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
ISO 27001IncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
HIPAAIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedNot disclosedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Auditor workspaceIncludedIncludedIncludedPartialIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Trust centreIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedPartialIncludedIncludedIncluded
SCIM provisioningIncludedAdd-on or higher tierAdd-on or higher tierNot disclosedNot disclosedIncludedIncludedAdd-on or higher tierIncluded
Audit from the same providerAdd-on or higher tierNot offeredAdd-on or higher tierAdd-on or higher tierNot offeredNot offeredNot offeredNot offeredIncluded
Self-hosting optionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedIncludedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed

Capability states come from the sources cited in each profile; most are from [5][16][19].

What isn't a true Scytale replacement?

These come up in the same searches but solve a different problem. Each is sometimes the better answer.

Trust-centre tools

Publish your security posture and answer questionnaires, but don't monitor controls or collect audit evidence.

Right instead when you already hold a SOC 2 report and buyer security reviews are the bottleneck.

Compliance consultancies

Write policies and run readiness work, usually alongside a platform you still pay for.

Right instead when the problem is time, not software. Scytale's own higher packages already include consultants.

CPA firms that bundle a platform

Some audit firms include a licence for their own tool with the audit fee.

Right instead when you want one relationship and accept the firm's tool. Check what happens to your data if you change auditor.

Enterprise GRC suites

Cover risk, policy and audit management across a large organisation, with implementations measured in quarters.

Right instead when you have a dedicated GRC team and many frameworks.

How do you switch from Scytale without losing your audit trail?

Five steps, in order. Most failed switches skip the first or second.

  1. Export everything before you give notice

    Download policies, evidence with timestamps, the risk register, vendor reviews and any test history. Some exports are only available while your contract is active.

  2. Time the switch around your observation period

    Switch between observation periods, not during one. If the renewal falls mid-period, ask Scytale for a short extension rather than moving tools mid-audit.

  3. Tell your auditor before you sign

    Confirm they can audit from the new platform or accept its exports. If your current audit runs through Scytale's audit line, line up a new firm first.

  4. Run both tools for one control cycle

    Connect the new platform and compare its test results with Scytale's for about 30 days before relying on it.

  5. Keep read-only access until the report is issued

    Your auditor may ask for evidence from the old system. Negotiate read-only access, or keep a dated archive of every export.

Frequently asked questions

Answers use the figures on this page. Where a vendor hasn't disclosed something, the answer says so.

What is the cheapest Scytale alternative?

On published figures, none is clearly cheaper. Scytale's AWS Marketplace floor is $7,500 a year for the platform and one framework, and Secureframe's Fundamentals package also starts at $7,500. Thoropass's platform starts at $8,700 before its audit. On observed contracts, Sprinto has the lowest median here ($15,000 on Vendr), then Vanta and Secureframe ($20,000). Compare quotes for the same scope.

Is there a free Scytale alternative?

Not among full managed platforms. Comp AI publishes an AGPLv3 open-core codebase you can self-host, which removes the licence fee but moves operations onto your team; its managed service is quoted on a call.

Which Scytale alternative includes the audit?

Thoropass pairs its platform with a related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, though software and audit are priced separately. Vanta sells a package that can include an independent auditor's fee, and Comp AI says audits can be included in its quote. Scytale itself sells a third-party audit service from $4,200.

Which alternative has the most auditors?

In SOC2Auditors.org's directory, 50 attestation firms list Drata, 45 list Sprinto, 41 list Vanta and 13 list Secureframe. None list Scytale. That matters if you want to choose or change your audit firm without changing tools.

Which Scytale alternative has the most integrations?

By vendor claims: Comp AI 580+, Vanta 400+, and Drata, Sprinto and Secureframe 300+ each, against Scytale's 150+. Counts are not proof that your own systems produce evidence your auditor accepts, so test the integrations you depend on.

Can I switch from Scytale mid-audit?

You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods, or agree in writing with their auditor how evidence from both tools will be accepted.